Members of the HITEC Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice to the Graduate School. It observes the further strategic development of the structures and concepts and ensures the comparability of standards of PhD training in an international comparison. It functions as external quality management control, comprises internationally respected scientists and representatives of industry and advises the Steering Committee in implementing its tasks.


Prof. Dr. Martine Baelmans
Applied Mechanics and Energy Conversion Section
University of Leuven Energy Institute
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Prof. Dr. T.W. Clyne
Prof. of Mechanics of Materials
Department of Materials Science
University of Cambridge
United Kingdom

Dr.-Ing. Dirk Goldschmidt
Siemens AG Power Generation
Mülheim an der Ruhr

Prof. Dr. Donal Murtagh
Depeartment of Earth and Space Sciences
Global Environmental Meaasurements and Modelling
Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg

Prof. Dr. Jenny Nelson
Department of Physics
Imperial College London
United Kingdom

Dr. Beate Scholz, Chairwoman
Scholz - consulting training coaching

Prof. Dr. Hans Jürgen Seifert
Institute for Applied Materials (IAM)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Helmholtz International Fellow Awardees

Two members of the HITEC Advisory Board received the Helmholtz International Fellow Award for t heir outstanding research. The award provides funding of € 20,000 and is combined with an invitation to conduct research at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Helmholtz International Fellow Award 2016:

Professor Jenny Nelson, Imperial College London, UK, does outstanding research in the field of solar cells and cooperates with IEK-5

Press Release
Press Release (in German)

Helmholtz International Fellow Award 2014:

Professor Trevor William Clyne, University of Cambridge, UK, has conducted numerous groundbreaking studies especially in the field of ceramic materials and cooperates with IEK-1.

Press release (in German)
Press release (in German)